HUNTINGDONSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

MINUTES of the meeting of the **LICENSING COMMITTEE** held at Council Chamber, Pathfinder House, St Mary's Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TN on Wednesday, 18 May 2005

PRESENT:

Councillors JT Bell, JD Fell, D Harty, I R Muir, R Powell, J M Sadler, L M Simpson, J Taylor, R G Tuplin, J S Watt and

Ms M Wheeler

APOLOGY: Apologies for absence from the meeting were

submitted on behalf of Mrs K P Gregory

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED

that Councillor J M Sadler be elected Chairman of the Panel for the ensuing Municipal Year.

Councillor J M Sadler in the Chair.

2. MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting of the Panel held on 19th January 2005 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

3. MEMBERS' INTERESTS

No declarations were received.

4. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED

that Councillor J T Bell be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Panel for the ensuing Municipal Year.

5. APPOINTMENT OF SUB COMMITTEES

With the aid of a report by the Head of Administration (a copy of which is appended in the Minute Book), the Committee were reminded that under the Licensing Act 2003 one or more Sub Committees could be appointed to which the discharge of certain responsibilities must be allocated to them.

Having noted the potential number of Sub Committee hearings that might be required during the transitional period in that in some cases hearings would be called at very short notice, the Committee agreed that its Membership should be divided into three groups for Members, from which a total of nine Sub Committees comprising three Members would be appointed.

RESOLVED

that the Committee established four groups from which Members be appointed to nine Sub Committees as follows –

- (a)
- 1. Councillors Sadler, Simpson and Tuplin
- 2. Councillors Sadler, Tuplin and Watt
- 3. Councillors Sadler, Simpson and Watt

(b)

- 1. Councillors Bell, Fell and Gregory
- 2. Councillors Bell, Fell and J Taylor
- 3. Councillors Bell, Gregory and J Taylor

(c)

- 1. Councillors Muir, Harty and Powell
- 2. Councillors Muir, Harty and Wheeler
- 3. Councillors Muir, Powell and Wheeler

Chairman